Welcome to Word After Word Books!

 

 

Ryuko Vol. 1 (Paperback)

Ryuko Vol. 1 By Eldo Yoshimizu Cover Image
$14.99
Email or call for price

Description


From creator Eldo Yoshimizu comes a stunning manga which tells the tale of Ryuko, a fierce woman of the Yakuza thirsty for revenge.

Ryuko is a hard-hitting, motorcycle-riding, high ranking member of the Japanese mafia stationed in the Middle-East. After a fierce battle with the government, she becomes embroiled with the Chinese and an unknown terrorist organisation. Everyone has their own agenda, but it becomes personal for Ryuko when her mother is kidnapped and she was forced to kill her father. What is the right thing to do in this morally complicated situation?

Ryuko has a choice to make, but it's tough when good and evil appear to be two sides of the same coin...

About the Author


Eldo Yoshimizu was born in 1965 in Tokyo. Having specialized in sculpture while studying at the University of Arts in Tokyo, he has installed numerous works in public space - some of them are among the most significant sculptures in Japan. Exhibitions in Japan as well as throughout Asia and in New York prove his international success and led him in 1994 to a scholarship as "Artist in Residence" in New York. In 2003 he realized the work »First Light« for the art and exhibition space of the Louis Vuitton branch in Omotesando. With the feeling of having satisfied his hunger in the field of contemporary fine art, he turned to Gekigaand began to focus on the interplay of object and space in the art of storytelling. He also works as a photographer and as a musician.

Praise For…


"Respected fine artist Yoshimizu propels an enormous cast through a complicated plot that twists and turns without ever losing momentum and presents action sequences—of which there are many—in brilliantly disorienting compositions that emphasize speed and a sense of unfolding carnage. Fun for fans of Manga, crime epics, espionage thrillers, action adventure, and bold choices in illustration and storytelling. "-Library Journal Starred Review

"Fine artist Yoshimizu bursts onto the manga field with this stylish crime thriller" - Publishers Weekly

"The plot twists have plot twists and then explode ... The action is excellent and fast-paced, every page worth reading" - Geek Native

"Delivers action, international intrigue and a complex exploration of morality" - Crime Fiction Lover

"A newly translated classic from one of Japan's greatest artists" – CrimeReads

"A real treat for lovers of hard-boiled seinen manga ... finds just the right balance between explosions, fights, and quiet moments of exposition" - Barnes & Noble SciFi Blog

"Outrageously entertaining violence ... Fans of Kill Bill, Cowboy Bebop, or just gun-toting crime lords will find something to enjoy in this fast paced storyline" - Bleeding Cool

"[An] elaborate saga of the deeds of the dead returning to haunt the lives of the living" - All The Anime

"A solid crime thriller fresh from the picture-house, filled with action-film style pandemonium" - Nerdly

"A fast-paced crime thriller filled with gritty action, beautiful illustrations, and complex characters" - But Why Tho

"A true work of art ... one of the best, must-own comics of 2019" - Culture of Gaming

"[A] potent mix of violence, yakuza intrigue, double-crosses, and barely-clothed assassins ... But oh, those fight scenes! They’re worth the price of admission, as they showcase the full range of Yoshimizu’s talents" - Manga Critic

"Really hits the ground running ... This is pure theatre; operatic tragedy meets revenger’s tale ... 4/4" - NB Magazine

"Absolutely beautiful ... It’s no wonder that Galleries all over the world exhibit Eldo Yoshimizu’s art" - Needless Essentials

"Quite simply, a spectacular exercise in comics art, a kinetic, breathless rush of a read ... a perfect example of how different, how incredible, how staggeringly great Manga can be and you simply should miss it" - Comicon.com

In 'Ryuko', danger is everything. It’s double-fisted grenade launchers and chaotic blurs across the face and upper torso. It’s helicopters and lingerie and furious anger and this cover, staggering as it is—is only the eye of the hurricane ... When you crack the spine of Vol.1 and find your jaw on the floor, you’ll finally have an intimate knowledge of what art really does to you"- Doom Rocket


Product Details
ISBN: 9781787730946
ISBN-10: 1787730948
Publisher: Titan Comics
Publication Date: August 6th, 2019
Pages: 256
Language: English