Welcome to Word After Word Books!

 

 

Hammers and Homicide (A Hometown Hardware Mystery) (Hardcover)

Hammers and Homicide (A Hometown Hardware Mystery) By Paula Charles Cover Image
$29.99
OUT OF STOCK (Arrives to the store in 1-2 weeks)

Description


Perfect for fans of Kate Carlisle and Victoria Gilbert, when a body is found in a hardware store, will Dawna Carpenter’s sleuthing measure up to find the killer?

Recent sexagenarian widow Dawna Carpenter thought running her own hardware store after the death of her husband was hard enough. With her adult daughter, April, moving back into town, and Darlene, the annoying boutique owner next door to her shop poking around, Dawna has her hands full. But when she finds a dead man in the bathroom of her store, with a framing hammer by his side, she’s in way over her head.

The victim, Warren Highcastle, was a land developer who was looking to purchase the old theater in town to build a new hotel. Dawna and April, worried about the implications of the crime scene at the hardware store, put themselves on the case. They soon learn that Warren had made quite a few enemies in his short amount of time in town. As the suspect list starts growing, so too do the threats against Dawna and April. Can Dawna and April nail the killer before they strike again?

About the Author


When Paula Charles isn’t writing under the towering trees of the Pacific Northwest, she can be found in the garden with her hands in the dirt or sitting on her front porch with a good book and a glass of iced tea. She has a love for small towns, ghost stories, and pie. During her childhood, she grew up in a town suspiciously resembling the fictional Pine Bluff, Oregon where she trailed behind her grandmother in the family’s hardware store until her grandmother would get fed up and put her to work counting nails. She is a member of Sisters in Crime. Paula lives on a small farm in Southwestern Washington with her husband, two furry dogs, two naughty goats, a handful of cackling chickens, a teeny tiny bunny rabbit, and one adventurous kitty cat.

Praise For…


Praise for Hammers and Homicide:
“A deftly crafted and fun read from first page to last.”
Midwest Book Review

“This is a fun start to this new series.”
Red Carpet Crash

“A woman of a certain age who knows how to swing a hammer, and solve a murder that occurred in her hardware store? Yes, please! Don’t miss Hammers and Homicide, a charming and welcome addition to the do-it-yourself cozy scene.” 
—Juliet Blackwell, New York Times bestselling author of The Haunted Home Renovation Series

“Paula Charles nailed it with this cute and clever cozy mystery featuring a hard-working hardware store owner and her daughter. Loads of small-town charm and plenty of laughs are found in this tale of tools and murder.”
—Jennie Marts, USA Today bestselling author of the Bee Keeping Mysteries

“Paula Charles hits the nail on the head with this intriguing series debut. Despite her daughter’s doubts, sixty-something hardware store owner Dawna Carpenter doesn't have a screw loose, at least nothing that prevents her from chiseling away the doubts about who murdered a local developer and left his body on her property. Cozy mystery fans of Kate Carlisle and Sarah Graves will delight in a new addition to the home improvement-plus-murder subgenre.”
—Maddie Day, bestselling author of the Country Store Mysteries

“This folksy mystery is loaded with captivating characters and small-town charm, with the perfect touches of humor and magical realism. I can’t wait to see what Dawna and her daughter April are up to next!”
—Angela M. Sanders, author of the Witch Way Librarian mysteries

“This fun and well-paced mystery has a sleuth that is sassy and smart. Murder with some old fashioned charm and a tiny hint of the paranormal. Toss in some laugh out loud humor and you have a fabulous debut cozy mystery.”
—Christina Romeril, author of Killer Chocolate Mysteries


Product Details
ISBN: 9781639105991
ISBN-10: 1639105999
Publisher: Crooked Lane Books
Publication Date: January 16th, 2024
Pages: 288
Language: English
Series: A Hometown Hardware Mystery